Getting Domestic

This weekend I took on a DIY project that I have been thinking about trying for a while….I decided to make my own laundry detergent! After doing some research, I found that a powder detergent would be much easier to make and store.

IMG_2477

For about the cost of a regular package of detergent, I was able to purchase all of the ingredients and it should last me 5-6 months.

 

Ingredients:

Arm & Hammer Washing Soda ($3.49)

20 Mule Team Borax ($3.79)

1 Bar Zote Laundry Soap (you can also use Fels Naptha, Ivory or Dr. Bronners) ($0.97)

 

All of these items were in the laundry aisle at Walmart (Target only has the Borax FYI)

 

I followed the 2:2:1 ratio  as recommended by Wellness Mama. I started out by making 2 cups of the washing soda/borax and 1 cup of the grated zote and then grated the rest of the soap and added ingredients following that recipe until I had a full container ( i used an old party ice cream tub for storage)

 

1. Grate the bar of soap- i used a cheese grater, but lots of people use a food processor.

2. Combine the ingredients in a 2:2:1 ratio

3. Store in a closed container

4. Use 1/8 cup per load of laundry–this seemed like a lot after my first load. After looking at some other recipes most people use 1-2 tablespoons. I have an old oxy clean scoop that I poured scoops into the laundry and it seemed to work fine.

 

 

Some notes:

Zote soap smells like citronella, but after I took it out of the wash, there really isn’t any smell at all to the laundry.

If you want to add some scent, you can use some essential oils or add in some of the purex scent crystals- add until the mixture smells as strong as you want it.

You can also add laundry additives like Oxy-Clean (or the LA brand that they sell at the Dollar Tree)

Leave a Reply

