Thoughts on the after

Sometimes it’s really comforting to know that other people share your feelings….that their struggle was different than yours, but the feelings are the same, and you’re not alone.

My life has been looking up lately, but I still have this wound that I think will always be there is some way. That era was a big one in my life that left a big imprint on who I am today.  I feel like the universe leaves these little traces to tell me that it’s ok to still have these feelings of confusion, pain and sadness and that I can move on in my own way.

 

 

The Girl Who on dating again:

So here I am, eights months after the divorce was final, sticking my toe in the dating pool. The water is warm, so it’s not like I feel nervous about dating after an 11-year hiatus. I like alcohol and good conversation as much as the next person so I don’t feel disoriented about the actual process of dating. It’s just that, regardless of what anyone says, dating inevitably leads to a relationship and I find myself paralyzed when it comes to the idea of being in another relationship. The whole notion of negotiating the living of life with another human being sounds exhausting, especially when limping out the failed negotiation of my marriage…..

….You may feel ready to date, but you’re not. That’s loneliness. Or pheromones. Everyone loves love and when there is a lack of love in your life or even just nobody there to hear about that a-hole in accounting who is ruining your work life, you start feeling desperate and find yourself tangled up with the first person that expresses interest in your sad ass. Kind of like grocery shopping when you’re hungry.

read the whole post here: http://www.babble.com/relationships/divorce-changes-everything-love-dating/

 

 

I came across this image today too: St. Valentine

Alex Stoddard Photography--St. Valentine "This was a more personal image than most I create," he says. "Rather than building a concept around a specified location or prop or subject, I started with an emotion — and, a complicated one at that. It is the feeling of loving someone who, despite all of their reciprocated love, is hurting you at the same time, and the difficulty in determining if that love is worth enduring all of that hurt.":

Alex Stoddard Photography–St. Valentine “This was a more personal image than most I create,” he says. “Rather than building a concept around a specified location or prop or subject, I started with an emotion — and, a complicated one at that. It is the feeling of loving someone who, despite all of their reciprocated love, is hurting you at the same time, and the difficulty in determining if that love is worth enduring all of that hurt.”

 

Leave a Reply

