Answered Prayers

joe

Have you ever experienced having a prayer answered?

It’s happened to me quite a few times in the last few years.

For a long little while, I prayed for strength to endure a situation, and I felt like God was ignoring me because my life was falling apart. In hindsight…he was putting me through a struggle to give me that strength. Its not really what I thought God talking to me would look like, but sure I kept praying to him. In those last few years with my son’s father, I prayed harder than I’ve ever prayed in my life. I often felt like it was pointless because I wasn’t getting the answers I wanted to hear. I would pray for signs, and get them…but they weren’t the ones I wanted, so I kept on making the wrong decisions.

When I finally couldn’t take dealing with my situation, I prayed that I was done. That I couldn’t take it anymore and I needed God to fix the situation for me. He did. My life as I was living was ripped out from under me and everything I knew changed in an instant. My love was gone, I was moving out of my house and I went into labor with my son.

My life hasn’t looked the same since.

Being the quintessential Pisces that I am, I’ve been praying for love a lot lately. I made things work with my ex for as long as I did because we were (and still are) good friends and I loved having that sense of security of a partner. I’m a romantic and I love being in love. I have met a few duds along the way and tried to make things work that were never meant to be, but it helped me to know what I was actually looking for.  When I told God that I was ready again, he delivered.

A couple years ago, my Granny had me write out a list of what my perfect partner would look like….I found him. Actually, he has been around the whole time. We met when we were 11, but grew apart as early adulthood came our way. The core of my ideal relationship, is one that is built on friendship. I want my partner to be my best friend. Joe and I started out as friends and then add to that he is hardworking, funny, loyal, caring, attractive, passionate, and loves my kid like he is his own. I can’t ask for anymore than that. All my life I wanted a fairy-tale romance and I finally have it.

I feel like all the pieces of my life are falling back into place. The last few years have been a struggle, but I’m coming out on the other side really actually happy, content and stronger that I could have imagined.

I’ve got good friends, supportive family, new love, a healthy son, mended relationships, rebuilt self confidence, a good job, a building business of my own and true happiness. What more could a girl ask for?

And whatever you ask in prayer, you will receive, if you have faith. Matt 21:22

 

Leave a Reply

